Nutrabolics Anabolic State

In the first week of May 2013, I added a second pre-run powder mix to my supplementation :

Nutrabolics Anabolic State

Nutrabolics Anabolic State

For all intents and purposes this is a Branch-Chain Amino Acid (BCAA) supplement, in tangy-tangy Orange flavour.  Looking at the label :

Nutrabolics Anabolic State label

Nutrabolics Anabolic State label

Here is where the astute observer will ask why, exactly, I’d choose to add a [10g BCAA per 12.5g scoop] powder to the pre-run dose when the Xpand already has [5g BCAA per 20g scoop].  The only difference is the L-Lysine in the Nutrabolics – but I’m not a biochemist so it’s not like I know some secret of human chemistry.

More the reason is that (a) I wanted to boost my BCAA intake for enhanced performance in the run and better repair after…and (b) because I seem to suffer what I call “Borg Syndrome”.

“Borg Syndrome” being a damnable effect of my biology, where I seem to adapt (and quickly) to new supplements and boosts.  The first Crossfit WOD where I dosed with Purple K, I was on fire: lifting more, pushing harder, feeling stronger than ever.  The very next time, the effect was half as much.  After that, no noticeable bump.

Same with the Xpand Extreme Pump…same with N.O.-Shotgun, which was one of {SR}’s first recommendations years ago.  The first workout is a monster, the second is decent, and after that, average.  Entirely average.

So, knowing this, I started mixing Anabolic State and Xtreme Pump in [X + Y = 1] proportions.  Half-scoop of one and half-scoop of the other.  3/4 scoop of one, 1/4 scoop of the other.  Dusting of one, nearly full dose of the other.  Mix it up to confuse whatever it is in me that attunes to a boost and adapts to its effects.  It seems to work.

 

Leave a Reply

